The Northwest Territories Association of Architects is mandated by the Architects Act to regulate the practice of architecture, govern the profession, and establish and maintain standards of knowledge, skill, care and professional ethics among authorized practitioners to serve and protect the interests of the public.

As a member of the Regulatory Organizations of Architecture in Canada (ROAC), we collaborate with other jurisdictions to develop the national standards of education, experience and practice to which all professionals must adhere. We also support architects in meeting and exceeding these standards and provide public outreach programs to help communities understand the value of a highly-trained professional as part of a building project.

As a professional self-regulator, our operations are funded exclusively through member registration fees and levies. 


On November 6, 2001, Bill 11 (the Architects Act) received assent in the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly and the NWT Architectural Society, which had acted in the general interest of architects since 1986, was transformed into the Northwest Territories Association of Architects, a fully self-regulating professional association.

On November 23, 2001, NWTAA became the 11th signatory to the Canadian Architectural Agreement, allowing for reciprocity between the provinces and the NWT, and set standards for education, experience and examination for NWTAA members.  A celebration was held at the Legislative Assembly in Yellowknife on November 24, with representatives from the 10 provincial associations, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB), the Canadian Council of University Schools of Architecture (CCUSA) and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) in attendance.

As of April 1, 2002, only a member, licensee or permit holder of the Association is entitled to practice, or offer to practice, architecture in the Northwest Territories.